Distant Atmosphere

Just another WordPress.com site

Worldbuilding

I’ve always enjoyed creating imaginary worlds.  Originally they were a means to an end; the steps I’d go through to create a setting for a story, book, or a role-playing game.  As I progressed, I realized that most of the time, creating the setting was far more fun than writing a book that takes place in that setting.

The idea of this blog is to create such a setting.  I’ve been thinking about it for a week now, so the ideas are fresh and fun, so and I’d like to get my ideas down somewhere.  Displaying my ideas in public doesn’t sound frightening, and perhaps if someone sees this, it may spur their own creative juices.  I have an idea to take the products from this blog and build a setting book or campaign book or perhaps even write some stories, but that is really only secondary to actually siting down and using my imagination to flesh out some fantastic place.

The title refers to a line in the song “Roundabout” by the group Yes:

I will remember you
Your silhouette will charge the view
Of distant atmosphere

I still have no idea what that means, but it sounds cool, and the phrase ‘distant atmosphere’ always stuck with me as a euphamism for an alien world.

Oh, BTW, there is a little ditty about worldbuilding over on Wikipedia.  Interesting, as I would think that much worldbuilding (or at least documentation of it) goes on in wikis nowadays.

UT

Leave a Reply

